You Should Eat Cake

FullSizeRender-5-smallYesterday was National Chocolate Cake Day. To be honest, I am more than happy to celebrate any National ____ Day when the ____ in question is delicious dessert. Thanks to Jude’s school calendar, I never have to miss out on these important holidays.

Because Jude stayed home with me in light of the snowpocalypse that wasn’t, he missed out on his serving of chocolate cake in school. And I just couldn’t have that on my conscience. So, we drove over to Panera and bought a chocolate cupcake (that counts, right??) and planned to attack it after dinner.

Jude specifically requested a candle, which I thought was the perfect touch, and after yelling “Happy Chocolate Cake Day,” and making a wish, the treat was divided, and we dove into the decadence.

“Mommy,” Jude whispered after taking a few, hesitant bites, “I don’t know if I like chocolate cake.”

My mouth was already stuffed with my portion of 520 calorie heaven, so struggled to get out the words, “That’s okay, sweet feet.”

To be fair, Panera chocolate cupcakes are pretty rich. He’s quite used to their vanilla offerings, which come complete with sugary candy on top in whatever shape suits the season. And he did just finish eating a cookie. So, I packaged up the remainder of the confection and maaaaaybe ate a few more crumbs. For good measure.

I am a big fan of Jude’s monthly school calendar, primarily because it keeps me up to date on the most important days of the year. Some of the celebrations are invented in-house (i.e. favorite color day and pajama day) and others are of the national variety, but each one serves as a reminder to commemorate even the simplest things, like hugs and chocolate cake. Because cake! Amiright?

IMG_1378But also because I want my Jude to remember that Christmas and his birthday are exciting, but so are pretzels at the mall and building snowmen, and Fridays. And if he can learn to find happiness in the margins, the holy-crap huge amazing moments will be the cherry on top of an already sweet life.

PS: It’s not too late to celebrate The Day After National Chocolate Cake Day.

This entry was posted in Happy Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Should Eat Cake

  1. Barbara says:

    Yummy. I think I will take advantage of that holiday a few days late.

  2. I’m going to need a copy of Jude’s school calendar next year. Legit reminder of all the most important holidays. 🙂

  3. Zoe Rose says:

    Now i really want to bake chocolate cake. Mmm.

Leave a Reply

